Revealed Anew: The Notebooks for Anna Magdalena Bach


The Edition Peters Group is thrilled to offer our customers the opportunity to preorder an unprecedented publication in the history of Bach scholarship: a new premium edition, incorporating the very latest scholarship, of Bach's complete notebooks for his wife Anna Magdalena--collected in a single clothbound volume--and complemented by a practical edition of some of the best-loved excerpts from the Notebooks, available as an affordable paperback. (Both the premium edition and the paperback qualify for this month's discount for our website customers.)

Bach, at Home
In 1721, a 20-year-old soprano employed at the prince’s court in Köthen married the court’s Kapellmeister, on his way to becoming the greatest composer of the age. As his second wife, she married into a young family with four children, and a busy household filled with music.
The music book that Johann Sebastian Bach presented to his new wife Anna Magdalena in 1722 – and replaced more lavishly in 1725 – treats us to a tantalizing glimpse inside this unique family, allowing us to sit beside Bach as a composer, teacher, husband and father. Over the years, these notebooks became a place for the family to share instructional exercises, favourite pieces (by Bach and other composers) to play or sing, early compositional efforts from the children, and first versions of some of Bach’s more ambitious keyboard works.

What is usually presented as ‘the’ Anna Magdalena Notebook is a set of excerpts from the 1725 collection, and the New Bach Edition of 1957 is based on scholarship that has since been enlarged upon and even surpassed by new developments in Bach research. Now, for the first time, Edition Peters presents a new Urtext edition of the Notebooks for Anna Magdalena Bach.

  • Contains all the material from the 1722 and 1725 notebooks together in one volume, in the original landscape format
  • Edited by pre-eminent Bach scholar Christoph Wolff, Harvard Professor and former Director of the Leipzig Bach Archive
  • Represents the very latest in Bach scholarship, reflecting up-to-the-minute research on texts, authorship and copyists
  • Extensive preface, detailed critical commentary, and beautifully engraved notation
  • Hardcover clothbound edition with gold embossing
  • Printed in Köthen and bound in Leipzig – the homes of the Bach family

Alongside this publication, Edition Peters presents a selection of the most popular pieces from the Notebooks in a practical offprint edition, priced at just $18. This practical edition draws on the material of Christoph Wolff’s scholarly edition, to be enjoyed by teachers, students, and professional musicians alike.

About the Editor
Christoph Wolff is Adams University Research Professor at Harvard University. Born and educated in Germany, he studied organ, historical keyboard instruments, musicology and art history in Berlin, Erlangen, and Freiburg. At Harvard he has served as Chair of the Music Department and Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (1992–2000). He was Director of the Leipzig Bach Archive from 2001 until 2013, overseeing amongst many other projects the opening of the extensively renovated and expanded Bach Museum in 2010. A leading figure in the 1999 rediscovery, in Kiev, of the Berlin Sing-Akademie music library, including many Bach family manuscripts, Christoph Wolff enjoys worldwide renown for his publications on the music, life and time of Johann Sebastian Bach, including Bach: Essays on His Life and Music (Cambridge, Mass., 1991) The New Bach Reader (New York, 1998), and Johann Sebastian Bach: The Learned Musician (New
York, 2000).

Preorder Now
You can click here to reserve your copy of this new publication in the clothbound premium edition, or click here for the practical edition of excerpts from this definitive new version of the music. Again, both editions qualify for this month's sale in our web store: take 10% off all keyboard music with the coupon code KEYS. We hope you'll take advantage--we're looking forward to sharing this gorgeous new edition with you, all the way from Bach's home to yours.

© 2017-2018

C.F. Peters Corporation

70-30 80th Street

Glendale NY 11385

powered by PRIAM © 2020